Outlander update

posted by snowwhitedrifted (West Coast Stacey/ SWD) and East Coast Stacey

..It’s been finished by both of us (yay!)

SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS!!

Back in September, we started this book. I’ve (SWD) now read all but the last book (Echo in the Bone), and I am fangirling all over this series. EC is ready for book 2 (maytheforcebewithyou, Stace). EC Stace and I need to discuss it, since we didn’t while we were reading it.

EC: I did it! I read the whole thing! I know it took me a LONG time, but if you are reading at night and are extremely tired sometimes you have to reread the Scottish dialogue several times. That or I might be a bit dense. Probably the second.


OK, this post will need some visuals. Sooo, ladies, choose your weapon Jamie. I did 10 minutes googling and visiting my outlander purgatory
massive amounts of research finding all of the popular Young Jamie options:

Andy Whitfield, Channing Tatum, Chris Hemsworth, Gabriel Aubry, Jensen Ackles, Josh Holloway, Sean Bean, David Wenham, Max Martini, Gerard Butler, Prince Harry, artistic rendition, Zach Roering (yes, that

SWD: *Thinks* Should I print that out and turn it into a bookmark? I think this might be my “Friends” “laminated” list.
Well, Gabriel Aubry seems to be the most popular choice, but he’s part of my V’lane (Fever series) amalgam (more on that in a future post). Let’s see, I’m going with Chris Hemsworth. Because he’s Thor, but then Andy Whitfield is Spartacus…and #swordskills…

EC: Jensen Ackles. That’s it! He’s the one. Dean from Supernatural would make a great Jamie and who I imagined the whole time. I also imagined him driving in a classic muscle car, instead of riding a horse. I perhaps might not be the best judge of these things.

And we need to pick Jamie’s hunting kilt. Here is the Frasser of Lovat kilt

Furry Sporran included

but we don’t see that one until later. What would Jamie wear while he’s incognito?

kilt me

SWD: I choose number 1, because I like dogs. And just like choosing wine, I always pick ones with animals on the labels.

EC: Look at all those kilts! Reminds me of Monarch of the Glen…and Archie and Lexie. They both need to be in Outlander. I love that show! I am so renting the boxed sets from the library!

While I also use my library card to take out Book 2! See I support my local library and like free things.

SWD: That is awesome! Somerhalder would be proud, EC!

Ok, now we need to choose our Randalls:

Ian Somerhalder (EC law, he must appear in all posts), Richard Armitage, Jason Issacs, Ralph Fiennes, Stephen Moyer, Jonathon Rhys Meyers

SWD: Uh oh, they’re kind of… well…. *wonders* Is it wrong to “Mmmphm” over Jack Randall?
They all look like they could do some damage, but I’m going with Richard Armitage (woohoo, again, another good my outlander purgatory idea)
But, when he’s not saying “SOOkeh is MAHINE”, Stephen Moyer’s dulcet British tones are quite exquisite, and he can stomach prop blood.

EC: I officially take Somerhalder and Rhys Meyers off this list! Now that I have finished the book, Randall is a completely vile character with no redeeming qualities!

Wait…Somerhalder plays Damon. He can be very bad, but not Randall bad. And Rhys Meyers? The Tudor’s King Henry the Eighth was not a good guy and crazy town. Maybe I need to stop thinking of the two of them as Boone from LOST and the cute soccer coach from Bend It Like Beckham. Nah, I don’t want to!

Oh, we need a Claire. I don’t feel like looking for an actress and I refuse to acknowledge Catherine Heigel as an option, so here’s my Claire:
I can see why you’re smiling, Claire!
SWD: Claire’s totally a pin-up in my head.

EC: I still like the idea of Annie from the UK version of Being Human! (Just saw a commercial for the new season on BBC America during Top Gear. Yay!) I also saw a little bit of an English television show called Lark (something I can’t remember) that was on Public Television. The main girl would have been great! It also starred the now much older daughter from Absolutely Fabulous. Ugh! Does anybody know the title of this show?

Claire falls through the stones, hangs out in the castle and becomes, to use EC’s perfect phrase “Dr. Barbie.” Then Dougal sends them all on the road. I think the road would have some hijinx, since it’s a bunch of dudes… and Highaland warrior dudes at that. They’d be doing unruly-man-away-from-civilization activities, most likely involving fire… and urine. Like this:

EC: I like when they hit the road. It was like Road Trip with kilts! And danger! Also uncomfortable moments for our heroine, liked forced marriage! (I wasn’t surprised that Dougal wanted Claire for himself.)

Also, the witch trial scenes! That was very dramatic. Poor Geillis! Yes, I know she wasn’t the nicest character, but she was in the same boat as Claire. She was just trying to survive in a world that she wasn’t a part of. Gellis just handled it very poorly.

What happens in the highlands stays in the highlands: Murtagh, Rupert, Dougal, and the gang. Where

So, Jamie and Claire hook up. Yay! I was shocked that Jamie was an “Edward Cullen” and they waited to go “Breaking Dawn” before the feathers flew.

EC: I wasn’t. The Cullen in him was strong! (like The Force in Star Wars) Jamie, like Edward was a good man forced in tough situations. The difference is that perhaps Outlander is a bit umm…better written. I still love Twilight, but…Outlander is fantastic.

Oh hell, if Sid Vicious is my Young Ian, Debbie Harry as Geillis shouldn

And since Jamie is an “Edward Cullen”, it still bugs me, even though it’s trivial, that Jelly Donut (Geillis Duncan) tells Claire that Jamie fathered Hamish. It tainted my early Jamie. I dinna like my Jamie tainted, Jelly! Speaking of Jelly, Debbie Harry is my Geillis…. See how nice I am to you, young Ian? Back to Outlander, and Gellis.

EC: Please note, my Geillis comments above.

Various Viggos= Dougalicious

And Dougal. I think I have mentioned my bizarre fascination with Dougal before, yes, I know he’s a dirk, but still. These are my Dougal’s, can you blame me?

EC: Dougal is interesting, because he does questionable things, but he means well. Sort of. Sometimes. Plus, he’s much better than his brother!

OK, where can I get the Liam Rob Roy doll? I need to add that to my desktop, That

Ohhh keep reading EC…

I want fanfic an extra chapter or two of the Alice Cullen, hey it’s my blog, I can cross series Geillis/Dougal trysts.

And Column? Why not Golly from “Monarch of the Glen”?

EC: Golly is just the coolest. He needs to be somebody cool. I need to ponder this one. Ideas anyone?

Although, his nickname, Golly, doesn

SWD: So a lot of drama and adventure happens.
So I’m not really a crier (unless it’s happy tears involving music, kids, or old folks), BUT I totally cried when Claire comes back down the hill and into the cottage. Uh, wine may have been involved.

EC: So many scenes in this book made me happy/sad weepy. Also, openly cheering a strong heroine like Claire.

Wentworth recap: THIS:
BJR was here too… doing bad things. and now I have the True Blood theme song associated with Wentworth and I’m traumatized

SWD: For some strange reason, maybe since I’d already seen True Blood Season 3 (hello, Lorena) The BJR details didn’t horrify me as they should. Don’t get me wrong, I was completely offended, but not vomit it my mouth disgusted, like a normal person would be. Damn you True Blood! I was so sad it happened to Jamie. I mourned innocent happy-go-lucky-at-Leoch Jamie. But it’s Jamie, and he’s magic and comes out of it.

EC: Number one, that picture freaks me out. I am pretending I didn’t see it. Number two, I think those details freaked me out. When looking at villains, Randall is one of the worst. He is insane. No wonder, Jamie was messed up after that. That’s one of reasons, Claire is such a great character. She fought to not only to physically save him from Randall, but emotionally as well. No shrinking violet here!

Clare is awesome, she does even more bad assery in the future books. I love Claire. Claire needs to take Bella under her wing and discuss career paths with her. Anywho, I really enjoyed this book, especially since I already had a long standing kilt fetish acute fondness for all things Scottish (my people).

EC: I enjoyed it too! Bring on Book 2!!!

4 Responses to “Outlander update”

  1. Sorry to disappoint but Andy Whitfield (totally agree abt his hotness factor) is out of the running because he is battling cancer:(

    ECS – he was one of my original choices during fantasy football drafts;)

    So I would have to go w/ Chris Helmsworth…even though I haven’t read the books…

  2. Tracey R. Says:

    Great recap lasses–can’t believe I’m just getting to it now!!

    And FeatLilJ–a fantasy Outlander draft? BRILLS. Totally need to figure out how that would work. Must discuss with Carol…

  3. The download The Debt DVD rip that is certainly still standing
    is surely an oddity. Have you played any gigs out and about, any house parties,
    any school dances. As the atmosphere started to disintegrate around me,
    I felt a fresh strength forge into my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

