OUTLANDER: Not Moonstones, but “Magic Stones” nonetheless

posted by snowwhitedrifted (SWD)/ West Coast Stacey

*Spoiler alert, well not really if you read the book jacket*

Hey wait, isn't he in Incubus? Why's he in this 1940's pic?

So, I forgot to wear deodorant yesterday, it’s 103 degrees (in November, mind you), and my eyeliner was smudging. So of course I thought it would be a perfect day for a discussion on our “currently reading list” time traveling book, “Outlander“.

EC: I am snuggled up in a large blanket with a cup of hot tea, ready to discuss! (It’s only 45 degrees. Brr!)

Ok, so a little discussion on the begining of this book. Chapter 1&2: Blah blah blah historical facts & plants Blah.
EC: Huh? Wha…What happened? Plants? *rubs eyes* I fell asleep.
SWD: I don’t blame you. This part was painful. Claire’s picking some flowers, pressing some plants, buying some vases or jars or something. I’m assuming it’s all just a distraction from her boring husband.Oh but Claire’s a fabulous walking “urban dictionary of swear words”. Love her for that and having an ongoing hate/hate relationship with her hair.

WCstacey is impatiently waiting for Scottish pipes

I found the little Druid dancey dance atop the hill reminiscent of initiation ritual so I did snicker. Oh wait, I can’t give away sorority secrets or I will be staked with my pledge pin. Oops.

EC: You best watch it lady…I know sisters in high places. They don’t take to kindly to the ‘secrets’ being discovered. Bwahahaha! Actually, I don’t know anybody important in the sorority. I’m just joking. But one time at initiation…Ahhh!!! Just joking again, no ladies wearing pins came after me. Oh…the book. I thought it was fun all the older ladies in the town doing their pagan thing. Also, who knew tea leaves and lines on your hands could tell so much. Discuss amongst yourselves.

SWD: I did want whiskey… but not Frank. How skeevy did the Frank smexytimes seem? I know we need him for background, but really are we supposed to care for him at all? Cause I never did. I just wanted her to hurry up and lose him and get to the Scots. Fall already Claire, fall!

Now back to my earlier point:”Hey Stace, why in the world would sweaty pits and raccoon eyes remind you of ‘Outlander’?” You may ask. Well I thought of Claire, how, out on a nice Spring walk in 1945, dressed in a typical spring dress, with 40’s hair and makeup, gets flung back 200 hundred years, and doesn’t pay much mind to the fact that she must look as out of place as the dude in the picture at the beginning of the post. I just wonder what it’d be like to go back in time without the daily beauty products and wearing what must seem like such strange clothes.

EC: Question here…how is she not figuring out that the guy who looks like her husband, but isn’t is the ancestor from the past. Did going through the ‘magical’ portal also make her high? He is wearing ancient clothing and trying to attack her throughout the moors. She has to suspect something?!? It’s not like she’s at Colonial Williamsburg hanging out with the actors. I don’t think this part of Scotland is a historical reinactment tourist trap. (I do, however, luv Colonial Williamsburg!)

SWD: LOL, Stace. Maybe the plant she was picking was weed? That’s why she was in such a hurry to get back to it.

Well yes, they think she’s a prostitute, out in her under clothes, and the sexual assault attempts and innuendos ensue, but seriously, doesn’t she look as foreign as an alien (I mean little green man, not sans green card kind)? Hello, what about make up? Cause this: 

Jaunty and stylish Englishwoman, circa 1945

Does this petticoat make my butt look big?

 

















…. looks nothing




















like this…..

Sure they powdered their faces and such for court and what not, but I’m guessing Claire had some fierce red lipstick and manicured eyebrows that just didn’t look like, well… the typical “Upscale English-maybe-French Whore” of the good ‘ol 18th century.
EC: That confused me too. But to give them some credit, the majority of the men seem not too bright and the smell of them probably could kill a small animal.

SWD: LOL, exactly, can you imagine trying to smell past people? When we’re used to today’s odor standards? Ugh, ‘ve been on the Tube in London in July, Whhhheeew and that was modern day.

True, they call her shift/ nightgown “underclothes”, but I was off put by the fact that except for the part right after when she tumbles through the stones, she doesn’t think her appearance is off. I know she is a low maintenance nomad, well versed in history and toilette/ medicinal practices, but I still think Claire would look drastically different. It made me wonder how I’d look, arriving 200 years ago. Now I love the 18th century fashions (my fav to study in my “Costume History” courses) but I don’t think I could go from pin up style to sasquatch

Uh yeah, I couldn’t go back in time, hygenically speaking

without a meltdown. Not even for Jaime. Um well, maybe I’d make tweezers and find some wild berry juice for “that natural look”, like Benetint. But the hair would be a problem. We have discussed “Flashback” hair in an earlier, “Vampire Diaries” post where we thought Damon’s current hair didn’t translate into the past verra (<-see, it’s catchy) well. I’d have the same problem. Shortish hair in the Scottish mist? Ugh, I would be no prize for Jamie, they’d be trying to pass me off to Murtagh.

EC: I like makeup and you know, baths. I wouldn’t last very long in the past.

SWD: Since I brought him up, let’s talk about the lad Jamie, shall we? I like that he’s in need of her medical expertise and that he is not some cheesy swarthy aloof “Gaston” type. I like that Gabaldon writes in the Scottish accents. It was a little tough to decipher at first, but by the end of Chapter 4 I had the hang of it… and it stuck in my head, ye ken? Plus we get the feeling that Jaime likes Claire and views her as a travel companion/”friend”, not like a “woman” as many of the others have. He’s slightly flirty, when he begins talking about the lashing, but not overly so. He’s young, confident, funny and not cocky. Nice!

EC: He has officially made this book good. The husband, on the other hand, bleh. Why don’t you just marry those books and stop being a bossy idiot. That’s right, I said it. Claire’s too good for him. Bring on the Jamie!

SWD: No kidding! I was about to give up on this book and go have a cup of ale with Dougal, discuss the upcoming Winter Sporran fashions and such. But just wait, EC, just wait. It only gets better.

OK, Jaime- After she re-re dress his wound, Claire lets her guard down a bit and we finally get her opinion about young Jaime with the following passage.

Quote: Chapter. 4, Outlander, p. 65

“The lad had nice feelings. Instead of calling for help or retreating in confusion, he sat down, gathered me firmly onto his lap with his good arm and sat rocking me gently, muttering soft Gaelic in my ear and smoothing my hair with one hand. I wept bitterly, surrendering momentarily to my fear and heartbroken confusion, but slowly I began to quiet a bit, as Jamie stroked my neck and back, offering me the comfort of his broad, warm chest. My sobs lessened and I began to calm myself, leaning tiredly into the curve of his shoulder. No wonder he was so good with horses, I thought blearily, feeling his fingers rubbing gently behind my ears, listening to the soothing, incomprehensible speech. If I were a horse, I’d let me ride me anywhere.”

Giddy up, cowgirl!

OK, I could go back for that, but I’d sure miss sunscreen!

EC: You’re silly.

So, have you guys read this book? From what I understand, “Twilight” is a gateway to “Outlander” That’s how I found it, well “Twilight” and Twitter, deadly combination.

10 Responses to “OUTLANDER: Not Moonstones, but “Magic Stones” nonetheless”

  1. Um…yeah…just found your site… and might I say…that I pretty much LOVE ITTTTT!!! Dang. Outlander…Twilight…True Blood..Askars… all in one place?!? Christmas has come early folks… I may be here a while. 🙂

    PS – Scroll down and take a look at that (smokin’) shot of Matt from Vamp Diaries. Now.. is it me? Or could he be a young Jamie?

    Um yeah ANOTHER PS – If I have this right – you guys just got to Leoch in the book? If so, this means you are over the initial hump. Now keep going to about chapter 13 or so. Once there, you will get on your knees and thank the gods for sending you this book. Nasty hygiene and all. For realz.

    • snowwhitedrifted/ west coast stacey here.
      Yay! I just found your site too, and same thing!
      East Coast Stacey is @ castle Leoch… I just finished Dragonfly in Amber last night.
      You hit the nail on the head w/ chp 13 and beyond. Ummm… why weren’t the “Isle Esme” chapters this good? *mutters* better than fanfic…but I like Jaime better than Edward (and I am definitely Team Edward).

      YES! I thought that too about VampDi Matt…. like 19 year old Jaime getting flogged by Randall. Speaking of Randall, physically I kind of picure him like Damon, but I like Damon so I don’t want to associate the 2 characters… althouugh that would make the , erhm, Wentworth scene kind of hot and that’
      s just wrong.
      😉
      Glad you found us!
      Have you checked out these blogs.. funny!:
      http://letterstotwilight.com/ and http://askarsswedishmeatballs.tumblr.com/

  2. ROFLMAO – SEXY WENTWORTH SCENES oh for the love of all that’s holy… I actually just considered that when I read it. Now I need a shower. Pronto. (Find a happy place…)

    I’ve seen Letterstotwilight, yes… Stephanie Meyer digs them too, doesn’t she? And yes – I think I clicked the sweedishmeatballs link on your blog last night actually.

    My sister called last night and said: “Every episode of VD is like a season finale! It’s the best show on TV!” I have to concur. Even the new characters are hot. Everyone on that show is ridiculously stunning and every week is a nail biter.

  3. Carol’s OTHER sister just dropping by to say that this whole post. Was. AWESOME. OMG. I canna wait until East Coast Stacey hits the road with J/C at page 200 (or whenever that is)–the wedding night is going to make for one good read!

  4. @ Tracey and Carol
    Oh yes, if EC Stacey can put that book down after the mentioing of the kilt buckle…. well, ….actually that probably means the wee barirn is fussin up a storm. 🙂
    Also, last weeks Vamp Di with the newbies (well “originals.. or whatever they were calling them….), the girl, I thought, was Claire-esque. Maybe just because she was strong, pretty and English and duinne. ;0

    I’m now 1/3 through Voyager. Squeee!!!!

  5. 1/3 through Voyager??????

    Oh my god. Oh my god. Oh my god. Breathe. Breathe. Breathe.

    Yes, Voyager is THAT good. I’ll say it: it’s better than Outlander. So there.

    • Tracey- I think you’re right! I’m almost 2/3 through now. ❤ it!!!!
      *sending small child to grammy's for the night so I can finish it without the interruption of Dora the Explorer *

  6. Ladies,

    I’m finally checking out your site after your brilliant post on LTT.

    I’m trying hard not to squee all over this comment, but the Outlander series is amazing!!! Better than Twilight, IMO (shhh, don’t tell anyone I said that!) And I started reading them way back in 2004, long before I ever heard anything about Twilight.

    I hope you really love reading, because there are now 7 books with at least 2 more to go, all of them gargantuan. (Methinks you could fit the whole Twilight Saga into one Gabaldon book.) All of them are good. Perhaps they have “boring” heavy moments, but I was always captivated. I dreamt about the characters while reading them. No other book has that claim on me.

    There are several lemony non-fades in the series, although they diminish or become actual fades as time goes on. But that’s ok because you have the earlier ones to reminsce about.

    Anyway, you have made an excellent reading choice!! I hope you love it as much the rest of the fandom does!!

    • @Luludee West Coast Stacey here (SWD/snowwhitedrifted). So far I’m in agreement about it vs. Twi. Shh, don’t tell either.

      I’m not surprised that the lemons fade over time, they’re not vampires for goodness sake. 😉

  7. Okay, ladies. I know I’m like a year behind here, but I’m finally getting around to reading Outlander and OMG. I purposely didn’t read your posts about it beforehand. I totally agree. Frank? ICK! Jamie, though, makes me want to go back to Scotland. I loves me a Scottish brogue and found myself starting to THINK in those terms.

    I’ve just started Dragonfly in Amber.

    *sigh*

Leave a Reply

