Halloween: Playing Supe dress-up

Posted by WestCoastStacey/SWD

Ahhh, finally Halloween is just around the corner. I have always loved Halloween, even as a wee tiny lass. I would always come up with very inventive costumes and sometimes would change various times during the night. As a small child, I dressed as the usual child things, bride, baby, wonder woman, etc. But as I got older, say ten, I started to gravitate to the more unusual, darker, costumes. Sure I was a pirate, but I was a battling matey, complete with battle scars and a enormous bruise on my face that my mother couldn’t even look at. I did a beautiful make- up job, wound make up was my specialty. (side note: Seriously, in my “Stage Make-Up” college course (aren’t you jealous of my major) I got an A+ for my final project, specialty wounds. I did vampire make up complete with deep puncture wounds that “bled” when the “skin” was punctured.) So it’s no wonder that some of the highlights in my costume repertoire have been: Victor Pascow (the dead jogger from Pet Semetary): age 14, Bride of Dracula: age 18, Coachman of Death, age: 19, Lady MacBeth complete with foot long dagger protruding from my gut: age 20, Mia Wallace (Pulp Fiction) after the incident (complete with red “target” and syringe) age :21, Titanic victim: age 23, dead Blair from The Facts of Life age:25, Sorceress age: 26, … and later, as I decided the smexy costumes were more fun…Captain Hooker. But still, the creeptasticness of the macabre has always been there, and finally, during this month alone (and well, on this blog daily…)  I get to let me ghoulish flag fly.

And which supe will I choose to dress as this year? *Second Hand embarassment ahead*

Your friendly neighborhood sunscreen... Sookie

 

Vamp Bill... and Sam?

Grieving widow Sophie Anne

Lafayette? Get your V, hookuh

      

Alice?

                                                                                      

For this month only I do not have to hide my bliss when stumbling upon items such as this:

It’s a Vamp Buffett

I do not have to bypass fondling toy coffins in Target because it’s Halloween for goodness sake. It’s during this time of year that the middle of the road stores sell the stuff you’d only find at Hot Topic…or Forest Lawn.

Target becomes Swoonable

It’s like for a month we are free to ogle our vamps, werewolves, men in cowboy costumes (oh wait.. that may be something else) out in the open.

The downside? Overhearing people discussing Halloween vampires, ghosts, witches, etc. and dying to join their conversation  with my $0.02, but restraining. Because, well, a  random stranger pontificating on the quality of fangs in “Costume Castle” and wondering why they can’t have ones that make that cool clicking noise like on True Blood is, well, just weird.

Whoosh-click *FANGS*

So, with a Halloween lovin’ mama, what is Snow Jr. going to dress as? Well, I took her to the costume super store aka “costume in a bag”. Yes, this coming form the former costume designer who made everything and would change costumes a few times during Halloween, because I couldn’t choose. Anyway, we’re in the store and she’s asking me “Mommy, what is this…and what is that…” I say, ‘Oh that’s a zombie, that’s a ghost, that’s a vampire.” She answers. “Oh mommy, I don’t like vampires.”  I snicker and mumble, “you will”.  Then we pass a Twilight poster on the way out.  #trainingstartsnow.

Trying to get Mr. Snow to wear devil contacts and a cape #whenhellfreezesover
-west coast stacey (SWD)


5 Responses to “Halloween: Playing Supe dress-up”

  1. It’s EC! I love this post and your costumes SO MUCH! I’m going as Bella…you know, my own clothes. ;0)

  2. Hey! I clicked over from your comment on LTT. I thought abotu being Sophie-Ann too, but I’m thining I’m gonna go to this party where I don’t know anybody and then have to explain my costume to everyone there!? So its 3 days away and I STILL have no idea what to be!!! 😦 Very frustrating.

  3. omg! I just looked back over your pics and actually read the captions this time! I love the one with your dog “and Sam” LMAO! hehehe

  4. WCS- love the pics of you as various vamps! The best is Lafayette…sorry ECS…I am after all from B-more!!!

  5. I don’t know why, but I don’t find the True Blood fangs to be sexy at all. Not like they are in VampDi…

Leave a Reply

